| Verification Lists |
Verification lists are used to verify transactions that have been added using one of the entry windows (Client Information, Fee Entry, Cost Entry, Payment Entry, or Client Funds Entry), changed by a utility in Tabs3 Billing (Adjust Flat Fee Clients, Perform Split Billing, Undo Split Billing, Write-Up/Write-Down Fees and Costs, Write Off Client, Email Statements, Update Statements, Undo Updated Statements, Transfer A/R and Transactions, Delete a Range of Clients, Change Client Options, Change WIP Transactions, and Payment Adjustment, or Reindex Files) or imported from an external source (Import Online Payments, Merge Tabs3 Remote Data, Merge Data Capture Transactions, or Merge Practice Management Client Changes). Verification lists also include separate sections for transactions that have been changed or deleted. Verification lists can serve as an audit trail for accounting purposes. Separate verification lists are maintained for each User ID (with the exception of the Delete Client Range Verification List). Some verification lists have additional options that can be selected when they are printed.
Note: Managers can print or delete Fee, Cost, Payment, and Email Statements Verification Lists for all users.
There are no menu selections for verification lists. To access a verification list, open the desired window (e.g., Fee Entry, Cost Entry, etc.) and then close the associated window. If information is present in the list, the verification list window will be displayed allowing you to print the list.
Note: The verification list dialog box is not displayed if the window was opened from the Dashboard or Tabs3 Billing Matter Manager.
Some verification lists are temporary and will only be available immediately after performing a particular function. These temporary lists are automatically deleted after the window is closed. This includes the verification lists for the Change Client Options, Change WIP Transactions, and Payment Adjustment features.
Note: The data entry verification lists for fees, costs, payments, and client funds are optional. Tabs3 Billing can be configured to maintain or not maintain these lists on the Main tab of Customization.
Note: Transactions from other Tabs3 Software, such as the Import Data Wizard in PracticeMaster, the Cost Entry window in Tabs3 Accounts Payable, or the Trust Transactions window in Tabs3 Trust Accounting, add verification records to the appropriate verification list in Tabs3 Billing. For example, a trust transaction that creates a payment will add a verification entry to the Payment Verification List.
The OK button can be used to display the Print dialog box that allows you to print, preview, or save the list. When the Fee, Cost, Payment or Email Statements Verification Lists are displayed using the Preview option, you can drill down to individual client, fee, cost, and payment records allowing you to edit data directly from the Preview window.
The Cancel button can be used to close the Verification List dialog box.
The Load and Save buttons are used in conjunction with Tabs3 Billing's report definitions.
The Delete Verif List button can be used to delete the verification list. If Tabs3 Billing is configured to not allow deletion of verification lists after displaying or saving, then you can only delete the verification list after it has been printed.
Note: Up to 10,000 entries can be saved in each verification list for a given user before you will be forced to delete it. It is recommended that the verification list be printed at the end of each data entry session and kept as a record of any additions, changes and deletions made.
Note: If a fee, cost, payment, or client funds verification list is full, and a user then clears the check box for the associated verification list option in Customization, the prompt to delete the verification list will still be shown. However, the Verification List window will not be shown. You must select the check box for the associated verification list in Customization before you can delete the list.
Technical Note: Although a separate verification list is maintained for each user, these lists are stored in the same data file (e.g., all users' fee verification lists are stored in T3FEEVER.DAT and T3FEEVER.IDX, all users' cost verification lists are stored in T3CSTVER.DAT and T3CSTVER.IDX, all users' payment verification lists are stored in T3PYTVER.DAT and T3PYTVER.IDX, all users' client funds verification lists are stored in T3FNDVER.DAT and T3FNDVER.IDX, and all users' email statements verification lists are stored in T3STRACV.DAT and T3STRACV.IDX). For example, if you have 5 users, each user can have up to 10,000 fee entries in the fee verification file for a maximum potential limit of 50,000 fee entries in the fee verification data file.
Delete Client Range Verification List Note: When viewing the Delete Client Range Verification List, all records in the list are displayed regardless of what User ID is associated with the records. Likewise, when deleting the Delete Client Range Verification List, all records are deleted regardless of what User ID is associated with the records.
Note: If a transaction has been deleted, then the text “*deleted*” will be shown in the Amount column for its entry. However, if that transaction’s reference number has changed since it was added, then the “*deleted*” text will not be shown. The reference number can be changed by reindexing the transaction file with the Compact Selected Files option selected, or by including the transaction on an updated statement and then running Undo Updated Statements for that statement.
The following verification lists have additional options that can be selected:
Fee Verification List
The Fee Verification List has drill-down editing capabilities. When displayed using the Preview option, you can drill down to individual client and fee records allowing you to edit data directly from the Preview window.
Cost and Payment Verification Lists
The Cost and Payment Verification Lists have drill-down editing capabilities. When displayed using the Preview option, you can drill down to individual client, cost and payment records allowing you to edit data directly from the Preview window.
Client Funds Verification List
Email Statements Verification List
The Email Statements Verification List has drill-down editing capabilities. When displayed using the Preview option, you can drill down to individual client records allowing you to edit data directly from the Preview window.
Update Statements and Undo Update Statements Verification Lists
| See also: | Deleting Verification Lists |
| Knowledge Base Article R10793 - All About Verification Lists | |
| Tabs3 Sample Reports
Email Statements Verification List Payment Adjustment Verification List Split Billing Verification List Undo Update Statements Verification List |