The Undo Single Updated Statement utility will reverse the updating process for the most recently updated statement thus returning the data for the client to its pre-final statement status.

Note: If you want to undo multiple updated statements with the same statement date for multiple clients, use the Undo Multiple Updated Statements utility.

The processing of final statements is a two-step process. The first step consists of running a final statement; the second step consists of updating the final statement by running the Update Statements utility. When a statement is updated, it is finalized and many changes occur to the data files. The Undo Single Updated Statement utility not only restores the data for the client to its pre-update status, it also unbills the final statement that was run . Undoing a statement that was sent using the Email Statements utility will remove the PDF statement from the Statements subfolder of the current working directory and strike-out the file name and statement date for the statement on the Email Statements Report.

This utility can be run for only one client at a time.

Updated statements must be undone in the reverse order they were updated. For example, let's say a client has three updated statements numbered 1, 2, and 3 and you want to undo statement number 2. Before you can undo statement number 2, you must first undo statement number 3. The reverse order is based on the Reference Number shown in the Statement Ledger lookup window (i.e., not the statement date or statement number).

Note: Make a backup before running this utility. If this utility is interrupted for any reason, it will be necessary to restore your data files and rerun this utility. You will be given the opportunity to make a temporary backup immediately after selecting this utility.

Platinum Note: When using the Platinum edition of the software, you will not be asked to make a backup before running this process, nor is it necessary due to the Auto-Recovery feature.

Client

Statement Number

Statement Information

Before a statement can be unupdated, Tabs3 checks for various situations that prevent the statement from being undone. If the statement cannot be undone, a message will be displayed indicating that the process is not allowed.

The OK button will begin the process. After verifying the statement can be unupdated, Tabs3 begins reversing the changes that took place during the update process. Once the statement has been unupdated, the message "Task Completed" will be displayed.

The Cancel button can be used to close the Undo Single Updated Statement window. The Print dialog box will be displayed allowing you to generate a verification list.

Note: If you are unupdating a statement because you want to reprint an exact statement for a client, use the Reprint Updated Statements utilities instead.

Note: If a statement was billed and updated by mistake and needs to be returned to work-in-process, use this utility to undo the updated statement. There is no need to unbill the statement once it has been unupdated.

Note: When undoing statement(s) from the Tabs3 Billing Matter Manager, Statement Manager, or Statement Information windows, you will be prompted to make a backup (unless using the Platinum software), and then the selected statement(s) will be undone, bypassing the Undo Single Updated Statement utility. You will then be returned to the Matter Manager or Statement Manager, or the Statement Information window will be closed.

Note: You cannot unupdate a statement for a client unless the statement has been run as a final statement and has been updated.

Note: Undoing an updated statement from a previous date will affect reports for that date and will require new reports to be run.

Note: Undoing a statement that was sent using the Email Statements utility will strike-out the file name and statement date for the statement on the Email Statements Report.

Note: Undoing a statement that includes a Payment Link will not void the payment link. This allows clients to submit a payment even if edits need to be made after the statement has been sent.

GL Integration Note: When integrating with Tabs3 General Ledger (GL), an unapplied payments account must be defined before this utility can be accessed.

Automatic Trust Payments Note: Undoing a statement for which an automatic trust payment was created will not delete the payment record in Tabs3 Billing or the payment to firm in Trust. This could result in duplicate payments being created when a new statement is run. To prevent this, delete the payment record from Tabs3 Billing and the payment to firm in Trust before generating a new statement for the client.

QuickBooks Note: Undoing an updated statement that has a cost transaction that does not have an associated Bill record in QuickBooks will create a new Bill record in QuickBooks.

See also:   Exactly What Gets Changed? (Technical Notes)
  Statements Overview
  Email Statements Overview
  Undoing Multiple Updated Statements at One Time
  Undo Single vs. Undo Multiple Updated Statements
  Credit Transactions vs. Write Offs vs. Undoing Statements
  Process Not Allowed
  GL Error Report
  Tabs3 Billing Statements Guide

Note: The "Client" terminology can be changed in Customization. This terminology is used on all menus, windows, and reports. However, the label "Client" is used in all documentation.