The Back Up Data Files program is used to make a temporary backup of the data files for all software products installed in the current working directory. This includes System Configuration, Tabs3, PracticeMaster, GL, AP, and Trust. The Tabs3 Software maintains 3 backups; creating another backup will replace the third oldest backup currently being maintained.

Caution: This backup method is a temporary backup and is not intended to replace your regular backup procedures. It is important to make sure that regular backups are kept off site in case of hardware failure, theft, flood, etc. Keep in mind that every time this utility is run, the previous backup is overwritten.

Note: Certain tasks within the software cannot be active when running the Back Up Data Files utility. Attempting to run the Back Up Data Files utility while these tasks are active will open a Conflicting Activities window. Conflicting activities must be resolved before proceeding with the backup.

The following options are available in the Back Up Data Files window:

Last Backup Information This section provides information about the last backup file that was made.
  Date The date and time of the last backup file.
  Created by The User ID that was used to create the last backup file.
  Type The type of the last backup file, indicated as "All Systems".
  Description Displays what was entered in the Description field as the backup was created.
New Backup Information This section provides information about the backup that is to be created.
  Type The type of the last backup file, indicated as "All Systems".
  Description The field will automatically populate with "Backup prior to" followed by the name of the task that prompted for the backup. If started from the menu option, it will default to "Backup created by: <UserID>". This field can be modified before starting the backup. 50 character limit.

The OK button will begin the backup process. A Back Up Data Files Progress window will be displayed in the center of the window. As the backup file is created, two progress meters are displayed in the Progress section of the Back Up Data Files Progress window. The top meter indicates the progress of the backup for each individual product being backed up. The bottom meter indicates the overall progress of the entire backup process. Upon completion of the backup, the message "Backup Successful" will be displayed.

The Abort button can be used to stop the backup process. The Abort button is available only while the backup is being made. Previously made backups are not overwritten if the backup is aborted.

The Cancel button will close the window without backing up the data files.

Platinum Note: When using the Platinum edition of the software, the Back Up Data Files menu option is replaced by the HotBackup menu option.

Note: All GLS Clients are backed up during the backup process, regardless of which GLS Client is currently selected.

See also:   Technical Information
  HotBackup
  Knowledge Base Article R11524 - Backup/Restore Information Resources