The Undo Multiple Updated Statements utility will reverse the updating process thus returning the data for clients to a pre-final statement status. The Undo Multiple Updated Statements utility can be used to undo statements for multiple clients with the same statement date.

Note: If you want to select a specific statement from a Statement Ledger Lookup window instead of specifying a Statement Date, use the Undo Single Updated Statement utility.

The processing of final statements is a two-step process. The first step consists of running a final statement; the second step consists of updating the final statement by running the Update Statements utility. When a statement is updated, it is finalized and many changes occur to the data files. The Undo Multiple Updated Statements utility not only restores the data for the clients to a pre-update status, it also unbills the final statement that was run . Undoing statements that were sent using the Email Statements utility will remove the PDF statements from the Statements subfolder of the current working directory and strike-out the file names and statement dates for the statements on the Email Statements Report.

Updated statements must be undone in the reverse order they were updated. If subsequent statements have been updated for a client, that client's statement will not be undone. The reverse order is based on the Reference Number shown in the Statement Ledger lookup window (i.e., not the statement date or statement number). Therefore, if a client has multiple statements with the same statement date, the statement with the largest Reference Number will be undone, but other statements with the same statement date will not.

Note: Make a backup before running this utility. If this utility is interrupted for any reason, it will be necessary to restore your data files and rerun this utility. You will be given the opportunity to make a temporary backup immediately after selecting this utility.

Platinum Note: When using the Platinum edition of the software, you will not be asked to make a backup before running this process, nor is it necessary due to the Auto-Recovery feature.

Statement Date

Client ID

Name Search

Primary Timekeeper

Secondary Timekeeper

Originating Timekeeper

Category

Before a statement can be unupdated, Tabs3 Billing checks various situations that prevent a statement from being undone. If the statement cannot be undone, an entry will be written to the Undo Updated Statements Error Log.

The OK button will begin the process. After verifying the statements can be unupdated, Tabs3 Billing begins reversing the changes that took place during the update process. During the unupdate process, the number of clients processed and statements unupdated will be displayed. Once the statements have been unupdated, the message "Task Completed" will be displayed.

The Cancel button can be used to close the Undo Multiple Updated Statements window. If statements were unupdated, the utility will prompt you to print an Undo Updated Statements Verification List. If there were errors encountered during the unupdate process because certain client's statements could not be undone, a Print dialog box will also be displayed allowing you to print the Undo Updated Statements Error Log.

Note: If you are unupdating statements because you want to reprint exact statements for clients, use the Reprint Updated Statements utilities instead. The Reprint Updated Statements utility will reprint any valid updated statement. It will not reproduce the email messages that accompany email statements.

Note: If statements were billed and updated by mistake and need to be returned to work-in-process, use this utility to undo the updated statements. There is no need to unbill the statements once the statements have been unupdated.

Note: You cannot unupdate a statement for a client unless the statement has been run as a final statement and has been updated.

Note: Undoing an updated statement from a previously closed out period will affect the date-based reports for that date and will require new reports to be run.

GL Integration Note: When integrating with Tabs3 General Ledger (GL), an unapplied payments account must be defined before this utility can be accessed.

Automatic Trust Payments Note: Undoing a statement for which an automatic trust payment was created will not delete the payment record in Tabs3 Billing or the payment to firm in Trust. This could result in duplicate payments being created when a new statement is run. To prevent this, delete the payment record from Tabs3 Billing and the payment to firm in Trust before generating a new statement for the client.

See also:   Exactly What Gets Changed? (Technical Notes)
  Statements Overview
  Email Statements Overview
  Undo Single Updated Statement
  Undo Single vs. Undo Multiple Updated Statements
  Credit Transactions vs. Write Offs vs. Undoing Statements
  GL Error Report
  Tabs3 Billing Statements Guide