| Unbilling Overview |
When a final statement is generated, Tabs3 Billing marks the transactions as "ready to be updated." Unbilling effectively clears the transactions so they remain in work-in-process and do not get updated.
Note: Do not confuse unbilling with undoing an updated statement. The Unbill Final Statements utility is used to clear transactions that have appeared on final statements that have not yet been updated, whereas the Undo Updated Statements utility is used to reverse an updated statement.
Client funds transactions are also unbilled.
If an incorrect final statement is printed, simply rerun the statement after making any necessary corrections. It is not necessary to unbill the statement before rerunning a new statement. Transactions that were billed on the original statement but were not billed on the second statement will be excluded from the new statement. For example, if a statement is run with a cut-off date of 02/14/26 and needs to be run with a cut-off date of 01/31/26, simply rerun the statement with the proper cut-off date.
Draft statements make no changes to the data files; therefore, it is not necessary to unbill draft statements.
Client ledger records are not generated when statements are unbilled.
If an automatic payment was created for the final statement, and the scheduled payment has not been processed, it is deleted when the final statement is unbilled.
Note: Once an automatic payment has been processed, it will not be deleted when a final statement is unbilled. Use the Import Online Payments window to import the payment transaction, and then you can void or credit the transaction, if necessary.
If automatically generated trust payments were included on the final statement, any Pending trust transactions are reversed when the final statement is unbilled. Because Tabs3 Billing payment records are not created until the final statement is updated, there is no payment record to reverse.