| What Exactly Gets Unupdated? |
Note: Because reports for previously closed out periods are affected, you may want to consider restricting access to the Undo Updated Statement utility.
The following changes occur during the unupdate process.
|
Caution: Subsequent reports show no indication that a statement was unupdated. No audit trail is present for an unupdated statement other than the verification list and the Support Log. The statement client ledger record is deleted. |
|
|
|
The client ledger record for the statement is deleted as well as any client ledger records for payments that were processed on the statement. |
|
|
Any payments that were allocated to the statement are unallocated. These payments can be in work-in-process, they may have been processed on other statements or they may have been processed on the statement being unupdated. |
|
|
Any payment(s) processed on the statement are returned to work-in-process. |
|
|
All transactions that were on the statement are moved from the archive file to the work-in-process data files. The Status field of each transaction is changed back to "P - Print." Caution: When a transaction with "S - Save" in the Status field is included on a final statement and updated, the original saved transaction is retained in the work-in-process file with an incremented date, and a copy of the transaction is sent to the archive file. When a statement that had a saved transaction is unupdated, the archived transaction is transferred back to the work-in-process file with "P - Print" in the Status field thus resulting in two work-in-process transactions. |
|
|
When a client that was configured for a one time courtesy discount is unupdated, the Change Discount Type to None after statement updated check box is not reset; neither is the Courtesy Discount Type. |
|
|
When a client that was configured to change statement notes to blank is unupdated, the Change Notes to blank after statement updated check box is not reset. |
|
|
When a Bill On Demand client is unupdated, the Release To Bill check box is not reset. The client's Release To Bill check box must be selected manually in order for another statement to be run. |
|
|
If integrating with Tabs3 General Ledger (GL), reversing journal entries will automatically be created if a payment was allocated automatically when the statement was generated; this can happen when a client funds payment to firm is included on a statement, or a client had an unallocated payment when a new statement was generated. If there were GL posting errors encountered during the unupdate process, you will be able to print a GLS Error Report. GL Integration Note: GL will attempt to create reversing journal entries using the date of the original journal entry. If this date is before the Date through which books are closed, the reversing entries will use the current system date and a GLS Error Report will be generated. If the reversing journal entries are dated after the Restrict Journal Entries to xxx Days in the Future or before the Restrict Journal Entries to xxx Days in the Past, and the user undoing the statement has rights to bypass date entry restrictions, the reversing entries will use the original transaction date. |
|
|
If an automatic payment was created for the final statement, and the scheduled payment has not been processed, it is deleted when the statement is unupdated. Note: Once an automatic payment has been processed, it will not be deleted when a statement is unupdated. Use the Import Online Payments window to import the payment transaction, and then you can void or credit the transaction, if necessary. |
|
|
If integrating with Tabs3 Trust Accounting (Trust) and automatic trust payments are enabled, any Tabs3 Billing payments that were created will be returned to their pre-update status (i.e., they will become work-in-process payments). Associated trust transactions will not be affected. |
|
|
The following reports may be affected by undoing updated statements: Accounts Receivable Reports - The client ledger records have been deleted therefore the figures on the accounts receivable reports will be correspondingly adjusted. WIP Reports - Any report that includes work-in-process figures will be affected because the unupdated transactions are returned to work-in-process. Client Productivity Report, Client Ledger Report, & Client Budget Report - The client ledger records have been deleted so the figures on this report will be correspondingly adjusted. Productivity Report by Category for Each Timekeeper & Productivity Report by Tcode for Each Timekeeper - The appropriate billed figures are adjusted because the associated client ledger records for the statement have been deleted. Receipt Allocation Report, Timekeeper Profitability Report, Timekeeper Productivity Report, & Category Productivity Report - Each of these reports will be adjusted for the period of the statement date because the associated client ledger records for the statement and processed payments have been deleted. Therefore, if you undo an updated statement for a previous period, that report will automatically be adjusted. Email Statements Report - Statements that are sent via email are tracked at the time they are sent. Therefore, unupdating the statement after the email is sent will not prevent these statements from appearing on the Email Statements Report. The PDF File Name and Stmt Date fields will be struck out on the Email Statements Report to reflect that the statement is no longer available. |
PracticeMaster Note: When statements are unupdated, corresponding archived transactions in PracticeMaster are deleted. When the fee and cost transactions are moved back to work-in-process, they will be resynchronized to the PracticeMaster Fee and Cost Files.