The Pre-Bill Tracking feature facilitates tracking the status of individual clients' pre-bills (including “legacy” pre-bill records) and final statements. Use of the Pre-Bill Tracking feature is optional.

See also:   Pre-Bill Tracking Overview

Each row in the list area represents a pre-bill tracking record. The following columns are included:

Client ID This column displays the Client ID for the client whose statement is shown on the row.
Client Name This column displays the Client Name for the client whose statement is shown on the row.
Description This column displays the Work Description for the client whose statement is shown on the row.
Timekeeper

This column displays the timekeeper number for the Primary Timekeeper, Secondary Timekeeper, or Originating Timekeeper of the client whose statement is shown on the row, followed by a hyphen, followed by the Tkpr Name (e.g., “1 - Michael L. Jensen”).

Note: The Timekeeper setting in Pre-Bill Tracking Options determines whether the primary, secondary, or originating timekeeper is shown.

Assigned To
This column displays the User Name of the user assigned to review the pre-bill. If the User Name is blank, this column displays the User ID of the assigned user. If no user is assigned, this column is blank.
Pre-Bill If a pre-bill has been run for the client, this column displays the Statement Date of the most recent pre-bill. Click the date hyperlink to open the associated pre-bill in the Pre-Bill Information window.
H (Hold) This column displays a check mark if the pre-bill shown in the row has been marked as “on hold.”
R (Reviewed) This column displays a check mark if the pre-bill shown in the row has been marked as “reviewed.”
Final If a final statement has been run for the client, this column displays the Statement Date of the most recent final statement. Click the date hyperlink to open the associated final statement in the Final Statement Information window.
Batch This column displays the batch number assigned to the pre-bill.

The sort order of the records shown in the list can be changed by clicking a column heading. An ascending sort indicator will be shown in the column heading indicating the sort order. Click the same column heading again to reverse the sort order and change the sort indicator to a descending sort indicator. You can use Incremental Search on the sorted column to locate information. If a field's contents are not fully shown, you can hover over the field to display a tooltip with the extended contents. You can copy the selected record(s) to the Windows clipboard using Ctrl+C or the button. Pressing F5 can be used to Refresh the list of fees. Right-clicking on the list displays the available options on a shortcut menu.

Column widths in the Pre-Bill Tracking window can be resized. To resize a column, move the mouse pointer between the desired column headings, then click and drag the right side of the column to the desired size.

The Options button can be used to display the Pre-Bill Tracking Options window allowing you to limit the records shown in the Pre-Bill Tracking window based on certain criteria. This window also allows you to determine the timekeepers included in the Pre-Bill Tracking window and specify whether each timekeeper will print on a separate page of a Pre-Bill Tracking Report.

You can select or deselect records by clicking the individual records. Multiple records can be selected. Records that have been selected will be highlighted. Once selected, records can be marked as "on hold" or "reviewed" using the following methods:

The Hold button can be used to mark the selected records as "on hold." Check marks will be placed in the H (Hold) column and the R (Reviewed) column. Clients with the H (Hold) column checked will not have statements printed. If the record was already on hold, the check marks will be removed from the H (Hold) and R (Reviewed) columns.

Note: When printing statements from the Generate Statements window, statements will print regardless of the Hold status. The Hold status only applies to statements printed from within the Pre-Bill Tracking window.

The Reviewed button can be used to mark the selected records as "reviewed." A check mark will be placed in the R (Reviewed) column. If the record was already marked as reviewed, the check mark will be removed from the R (Reviewed) column. (Tip: Double-clicking an individual record has the same effect as marking it as reviewed.)

The Final Statements button can be used to generate final statements and send email statements to the Email Statements window for the clients shown in the Pre-Bill Tracking window (regardless of whether they are highlighted). Only the clients who are marked as "Reviewed," not marked as "Hold," and do not have a date in the Final column will have statements printed. The Final Statement Options window will be displayed, allowing additional settings to be adjusted before final statements are generated.

Note: It is possible that the Pre-Bill Tracking window is not up-to-date if another user has made changes and you have not refreshed the Pre-Bill Tracking window since the changes were made. If this is the case and you click the Final Statements or Print Report button, you may receive the following message:


Warning: The Pre-Bill Tracking window has been updated with changes made by another user. Performing this action will include the changes made by this user. Would you like to continue with this action?

Click Yes to continue with your action. Click No to go back to the Pre-Bill Tracking window. The Pre-Bill Tracking window will be automatically refreshed.

 

The Refresh button or F5 can be used to update the information shown in the Pre-Bill Tracking window. Any clients that no longer meet the record selection options will be removed. Changes for clients that have been included on a Detail Work-In-Process Report or in a batch of statements since the window was first opened will also be reflected.

The Print Report button, Ctrl+P, or the button on the toolbar can be used to print a Pre-Bill Tracking Report. This report can be printed to show the statements on hold, statements outstanding (not reviewed) or simply as an audit trail. If you want to print this report as an audit trail, it must be printed before the final statements are updated.

The Reorder Fees button opens the Reorder Fees window for the selected client, allowing you to change the order in which fees are displayed on the statement. If multiple clients are selected in the Pre-Bill Tracking window, the last client selected will be used as the default client in the Reorder Fees window.

The button on the toolbar can be used to undo pre-bills. All included transactions will be unmarked and returned to work-in-process. The Delete Pre-Bill Tracking Records window will be displayed allowing you to undo the selected pre-bill(s), all pre-bills displayed, or all pre-bills for a range of batch numbers.

The button on the toolbar or the standard Windows close button can be used to close the Pre-Bill Tracking window.

Note: The Pre-Bill Tracking icon in the Home Page or Quick Launch pane displays a badge count of pre-bill records assigned to the currently logged in user that are not marked as "Reviewed" and not marked as "Hold." Tabs3 Billing checks for new pre-bills and updates the count for the currently logged in user under the following circumstances:

  • When logging into Tabs3 Billing.
  • Each time a pre-bill is reviewed or marked as not reviewed.
  • Each time a pre-bill is set to hold or released from hold.
  • Each time a pre-bill is finalized or undone.
  • When a final statement is reverted to a pre-bill.
  • When a pre-bill is created via Generate Statements or Detail Work-In-Process Report.
  • When a pre-bill has the assigned user changed.
  • When the Pre-Bill Tracking window is opened or closed.

Note: “Legacy” pre-bill records created from draft statements or the Detail Work-in-Process Report with the Update Pre-Bill Tracking option selected are shown for tracking purposes, but hyperlinks are not available to open the pre-bill. If these pre-bills are marked as "Reviewed," clicking the Final Statements button will generate a new statement using the clients’ default settings, which may not match the transactions included on the original report.

See also:   Selecting Multiple Records
  Right-Click Menu Options