| Deleting a Payment Entry |
To delete an existing payment from the Payments list
- In the Quick Launch, search for and select “Payment Entry.”
- Select the desired payment.
- Click
on the toolbar to delete the payment. You will be prompted to confirm that you want to delete the payment.
To delete an existing payment from the Payment Entry window
- In the Quick Launch, search for and select “Payment Entry.”
- Click the Client
button and select the desired client. - Click the Reference
button and select the desired payment.
...or...
Double-click the payment entry shown in the Payment Entry List to select it. - Click
on the toolbar to delete the payment. You will be prompted to confirm that you want to delete the payment.
Note: A user will not be able to delete a payment unless that user has been assigned access rights to delete payments.
Credit Card Authorization Note: If the payment has a linked credit card transaction, you will be asked if you want to attempt to reverse the credit card transaction. If you answer Yes, Tabs3 Billing will attempt to create a void/credit transaction in the Tabs3 Pay®, LawPay®, or LexCharge® processing system. If you answer No, Tabs3 Billing will delete the payment without affecting the associated credit card transaction.
GL Integration Note: Deleting a payment transaction that
has Tabs3 General Ledger (GL) journal entries associated with it will automatically generate reversing GL journal entries with
the same date as the original journal entries. A GL Adjusting Journal Entries
window will be displayed, prompting for the date of the reversing journal entries. Select the date the
adjusting entries should be made, then click OK. Clicking Cancel will cause no adjusting
journal entries to be created.
If the associated payment transaction has been cleared, reconciled, or deposited in GL, a warning message will be displayed to confirm that you want adjusting journal entries to be posted.
QuickBooks Note: If integrating with QuickBooks using the QBXML format, deleting a payment in Tabs3 Billing automatically creates reversing journal entries in QuickBooks with the same date as the original payment.
Note: Payments that have a linked client funds record cannot be deleted. Instead, deleting the client funds transaction will delete the payment. Attempting to delete a payment with a linked client funds record will display a message, and allow you to open the linked record for deletion.
Note: Transactions that have been included on a pre-bill cannot be deleted. When drilling down to the transaction from the Pre-Bill Information window, click
to remove the transaction from the pre-bill. You will be prompted to confirm that you want to remove the transaction. Removing a payment with a linked client funds record will also remove the linked client funds transaction from the pre-bill. Attempting to delete transactions from outside this window will display a message that the transaction cannot be deleted, unless the user has rights to Modify Pre-Bill Transactions Outside of Pre-Bills.
Note: Transactions that have been included on a final statement cannot be deleted. You can reverse a payment that has been final billed and updated via the Payment Adjustment utility.
| See also: | Toolbar Buttons |