| Changing a Fee Entry |
To change an existing fee
from the Fees list
To change an existing fee from the Fee Entry window
- In the Quick Launch, search for and select “Fee Entry.”
- Click the Client
button and select the desired client. -
Click the Reference
button and select the desired fee....or...
Double-click the fee shown in the Fee Entry List to select it.
- Make the desired changes.
- Click
on the toolbar to save the changes.
When editing a transaction, the default billing rate is determined according to the current settings, not the settings that were used when the transaction was originally entered. The source of the default billing rate will be displayed to the right of the Rate Code field.
Note: A user will not be able to change a fee unless that user has been assigned access rights to change fees. Only the Client ID and Reference fields will be available. All other fields will be dimmed.
Notes Regarding Changing a Fee Transaction
Automatic spell checking is only performed when adding new transactions. However, spell checking is performed
as you type for new text if the Automatic spell check as you type check box on the
Spell Check Options
window is selected. Clicking the
button will spell check the entire field.
The Client field cannot be changed in this window. However, you can use the Transfer A/R and Transactions utility to move the transaction to a different client.
The Change WIP Transactions utility can be used to change the Status, Date, Phase/Task, Activity, Bill Code, Sales Tax, Rate, or Category field for multiple entries at the same time.
Changing the Tcode or Activity field will update the Description field with the description of the new tcode or activity code unless the description has been modified. Once the description for a fee has been modified, it will no longer update when the Tcode or Activity Code is changed. Therefore, we recommend selecting the appropriate Tcode or Activity Code before editing the description.
If you change the timekeeper on a fee transaction, a message will be displayed asking if you want to change the rate on the fee transaction. Click Yes to change the rate to the new timekeeper's rate. Otherwise, click No to leave the rate unchanged.
If you change the Rate or Hours on a fee transaction, a message will be displayed asking if you want to change the amount on the fee transaction. Click Yes to change the amount on the transaction based on the new rate or hours. Otherwise, click No to leave the amount unchanged.
Transactions that have been included on a pre-bill will display with all fields dimmed when opened from outside the Pre-Bill Information window, unless the user has rights to Modify Pre-Bill Transactions Outside of Pre-Bills. Attempting to make changes from outside this window without rights will display a message that the transaction cannot be edited.
Transactions that have been included on a final statement will display with all fields dimmed and cannot be edited. To change any field, you must revert the statement to a pre-bill, then make changes by drilling down to the transaction from the Pre-Bill Information window.
| See also: | "Updated" Status |
| Toolbar Buttons |