Keep in mind the following when configuring and using split billing:

If you want the main client to retain a percentage of the fees and costs, you must define a split matter using the Client ID of the main client. Otherwise, the transactions will be removed from the main client's work-in-process when the Perform Split Billing program is run.
There is no limit to the number of matters that can be included in a split.
When the Perform Split Billing program is run, only Type 0 (Normal) and Type 5 (Miscellaneous) fee and cost transactions that are not on hold will be split.
Client Funds transactions will not be split.
Once transactions have been split, they cannot be split again. This allows you to run the Perform Split Billing program multiple times before billing without creating duplicate split transactions.
The Undo Split Billing program can be used to reverse the split billing process for an individual split billing main client.
When the Perform Split Billing program is run, the dollar amounts will be split using the percentages entered for each split matter. However, when the total percentages are less than 100% or exceed 100%, the hours of the transactions will be split on a prorated basis using these percentages so that the total number of hours of the resulting transactions will equal the number of hours on the original transaction.
Transactions with an S-Save or s-Save/Update in the Status field are treated differently by the Perform Split Billing program. For main clients who are not also defined as a split matter, the Hours and Amount fields on the original transaction will be set to 0.00. These transactions will still have a Status of S-Save but cannot be split again. The transactions created for the split matters will be set to P-Print. For main clients who are also defined as a split matter, the original transactions will have the adjusted Hours and Amount fields. These transactions will still have a Status of S-Save but cannot be split again. The transactions created for the other split matters will be set to P-Print.
Any split billing information for a client is deleted when the client is deleted (via the Client file). (See also: Deleting a Client)
If the user adjusting split transactions is assigned Tabs3 Timekeepers, only transactions for assigned timekeepers will be split.
Totals for secure clients who are configured for split billing may be incorrect if you do not have access rights to the secure clients.
If a final statement is run for a client that is configured for split billing and whose transactions have not been split, an entry will be recorded on the Report Log, which can be viewed immediately after generating statements.
If the Perform Split Billing program is run after the main client is final billed (but before their statement is updated), then the main client's final statement will be excluded from the Update Statements process. Any associated split matters' final statements will not be excluded, but must be generated again in order to include the split transactions.
You can determine whether a transaction is the result of a split by running a Transaction File List Report for the matter that includes the Source column. A lowercase letter in the Src column on the report indicates that the transaction was generated as the result of the Perform Split Billing process.
Deleting individual split transactions does not delete the record of the original transaction in Tabs3. Therefore, it is possible to use the Undo Split Billing program to restore a transaction even after the corresponding split transactions have been deleted.
Any courtesy discounts assigned to the main client will only apply to the main client. Courtesy discounts for split matters must be applied individually to each matter.

Task Based Billing

If one of the split matters requires task based billing, we recommend configuring the main client for task based billing as well. Otherwise, if the Task Based Billing setting does not match between the main client and its associated split matters, the following will occur during the Perform Split Billing process:

Costs from AP Invoices

Splitting cost entries in Tabs3 Billing that were entered via AP when you are integrated with GL will create adjusting journal entries via AP. These are shown on the General Ledger tab of the Invoice/Manual Check Entry window.

GL Journal Entries

If you are integrating with GL and GL journal entries were posted for the original cost transactions, adjusting GL journal entries are automatically created when the costs are split.

When a cost is split, two sets of journal entries are created:

Note: In the event a cost entry had multiple debit or credit journal entries, then the amounts for the new journal entries are proportionately adjusted.

See also:   GL Integration Overview