The Inactive check box indicates whether the client has an inactive status or an active status. Clients are generally marked as inactive clients once work on the client has ceased or when the client file is closed. This change is performed manually and can be changed at any time.

The inactive status prevents you from adding any fees, expenses or advances for the client with an amount greater than 0.00. You can, however, enter payments, fee credits, expense credits, and advance credits for inactive clients. Finance charges continue to be assessed for inactive clients. Draft and final statements can be run for inactive clients.

You can bill any work-in-process that was entered before the client was set to inactive. Inactive clients can have a balance due. Inactive clients can be included or excluded from the Client Lookup window. Reports can be generated with or without inactive clients.

Select this check box if you want the client designated as an inactive client. A window will be displayed allowing you to archive the current matter address so that any future address changes to the Contact record will not affect the inactive matter. This window will not be displayed for matters whose address selector is set to secure or matter, since addresses for these matters are already stored in the Client file rather than the Contact file.

Clear this check box if the client is still active. By default, new clients are set up with the Inactive check box cleared.

Note: Clients who are used in split billing cannot be changed to an inactive status, because inactive clients cannot be billed for additional work. If the client is no longer receiving split bills, then they will need to be removed from the split billing configuration prior to being marked as inactive. See the Deleting a Split Matter topic for more information.

Note: Inactive clients with ledger integrity errors cannot be changed to an active status.

Note: Inactive clients cannot be viewed in Tabs3 Connect.

Note: Inactive clients will be included in autofill suggestions if the Show Inactive check box is selected in the Client Lookup window. If the Show Inactive check box is cleared, inactive clients will not be included in autofill suggestions.

See also:   Knowledge Base Article R11018 - All About Inactive Clients in Tabs3