| Secure Client |
A client can be designated as a secure client if you want to limit access to the client by user. If a user does not have access to a secure client, the client does not appear on any reports or statements that the user runs. Neither can the user add or access transactions that have been added to the client. Reports that are not classified by client include figures for secure clients.
Note: The message “Secure Clients and/or transactions may have been excluded” will be displayed at the bottom of reports if the report’s Client ID range includes clients that the user running the report does not have access to. The message will also be displayed if timekeeper information is excluded due to the user being assigned to specific timekeepers in System Configuration.
Any user who is a member of the manager access profile has access to all secure clients. Only managers can designate a client as a secure client and specify which users will have access to a secure client. This check box determines whether the client has been set up as a secure client. Only managers can print a Client List Report that includes secure clients or a list of secure clients only.
Note: The Secure Client check box is not shown unless you are logged in as a manager.
Select this check box if you want the client to be designated as a secure client. The Select Secure Users button is available when this check box is selected, allowing you to designate which users will have rights to the secure client. Additionally, all fields on the Address tab of the Client file will become available, allowing you to enter contact information. This allows for one address, four phone numbers, and one email address to be entered for each matter. The phone labels designated for secure clients are Business, Business Fax, Home, and Mobile. Contact information for secure clients is stored in the Client file, rather than the Contact file.
If you select this check box and save the record, thus changing a client to secure status, the software searches for Contact records used in the Client file. If one or more Contact records that match the Client Name, Contact Name or Bill To Name fields exist in the Contact file, the Contact Information Found window will be displayed. Contacts cannot be made secure; therefore, you must decide whether the displayed Contact record(s) need to be deleted from the Contact file.
Note: If a user is selected in the Secure Users list, and later made inactive, you might receive a validation error when viewing the client. Unselect the user to prevent this error from recurring.
Clear this check box if all users may have access to the client.
Note: Contact records cannot be marked as secure.
Integration Note: Clients marked as Secure in Tabs3 Billing will also be secure in PracticeMaster and Tabs3 Trust Accounting.
Technical Note: Secure client designations are cached during the session. Therefore, changes to a client's secure status may not apply immediately to other non-manager users in the software. Refreshing of the cache occurs when the user restarts the software or within 30 minutes, whichever comes first.
| See also: | Tabs3 Security Overview |
Note: The "Client" terminology can be changed in Customization. This terminology is used on all menus, windows, and reports. However, the label "Client" is used in all documentation.