| Deleting a Transaction Code |
To delete an existing transaction code
- From the File menu, select Open, and then click Miscellaneous.
- Click the Tcode tab.
- Click the
button and select the desired transaction code. - Click
on the toolbar to delete the transaction code. You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete the transaction code.
- A transaction that is currently assigned to work-in-process transactions, used in a cost rate table, or assigned to a task code cannot be deleted. You can use the Detail Work in Process Report or the Transaction File List to determine if the tcode is assigned to any work-in-process transactions, the Client Rate Report to determine if it is used in any clients' cost rate tables, and the Task Code List to determine if it is assigned to any task codes. Removing the transaction code from these records will allow you to delete it.
- Deleting a transaction code does not affect the archive files. However, if an archived transaction containing a deleted transaction code becomes work-in-process again via the Undo Updated Statement function, it will generate an error of 80 (Invalid Transaction Code) during a Data File Integrity Check.
- Deleting a transaction code does not delete billed amounts for that transaction code. Any billed amounts for the deleted transaction code are still linked to that transaction code number. If the billed transaction code number is reused without being renumbered, any billed amounts for the new transaction code number will be combined with the billed amounts for the old transaction code number. Therefore, we strongly recommend that you renumber the transaction code instead of deleting the transaction code. Renumbering a transaction code will move the billed amounts for the old transaction code number to the new transaction code number. If you delete a transaction code instead of renumbering it, the billed amounts for the transaction code will print on the productivity reports, but the transaction code name will be blank. The billed amounts are retained in order to preserve ledger integrity for clients and transactions that were billed using the deleted transaction code.
| See also: | Toolbar Buttons |