| Cost Rate Table |
The Cost Rate Table window can be accessed by clicking the Cost Rate Table button on the Rates tab of the Client file. This window allows you to add, change or delete a cost rate table for a client. The cost rate table can be used to determine the rate when a cost transaction is entered for a specific tcode (or expense code if using Task Based Billing), as well as define its billable or non-billable status.
Although a rate can be assigned for each transaction code in the Transaction Code file, the cost rate table is designed for those situations where you charge different rates to different clients for the same transaction code. For example, you may charge a lower rate for photocopies to a client who does a great deal of business with your firm whereas you may charge a different rate for other clients. Using cost rate tables to define the different photocopy rates allows you to use the same photocopy transaction code for all clients.
This table consists of a list of cost transaction codes with one rate per transaction code. There is no limit to the number of tcodes or expense codes that can be included in the cost rate table. All tcode or expense code rates defined for a client are displayed in the table. Each tcode or expense code added to the cost rate table is assigned a rate and can be assigned a new rate if the tcode's or expense code's rate changes. The effective date specified for new rates applies to all tcodes or expense codes in a table. When a cost rate table exists for a client, the label "Defined" will be displayed to the right of the Cost Rate Table button.
The following fields are displayed in the Cost Rate Table window:
Rate Information
Tcode or Expense ID
The OK button can be used to close the Cost Rate Table window. Any changes made to the rates will be saved when the client is saved. However, if you close the Client window without saving the client, the changes to the rates will not be saved.
The Cancel button can be used to close the cost rate table without saving any changes made to the cost rate table.
The Save Rate button can be used to save the tcode or expense code, rate, and new rate to the cost rate table.
The Delete Rate button can be used to delete the highlighted tcode or expense code, rate, and new rate from the list of tcodes or expense codes defined in the cost rate table.
The Clear All button can be used to clear all tcode or expense code records in the lower list. This function effectively deletes the cost rate table for the client.
The Move Rates button can be used to quickly transfer all rates greater than 0.00 specified in the New Rate column to the Rate column and change the rates in the New Rate column to 0.00. Clicking this button also changes the date in the Effective Date of New Rate field to mm/dd/yyyy.
| See also: | Cost Rate Tables Overview |
| Fee Rate Tables |
Note: The "Client" terminology can be changed in Customization. This terminology is used on all menus, windows, and reports. However, the label "Client" is used in all documentation.