| Resetting Users |
All users should exit the software properly so that the Active User List is correctly updated. If a user does not exit the software properly, the user must be reset.
When the Active User List is accessed by a user who is a manager, a Reset button is displayed. Clicking the Reset button will reset the highlighted user(s) [with the exception of the user performing the reset, indicated by an asterisk (i.e., "*")]. You will be asked to confirm that you want to reset the specified users.
All resets are logged in a reset log file.
Caution: Users that are in the software should never be reset. Resetting users that are in the software can cause data loss, data corruption, and fatal errors. DO NOT reset users unless you are absolutely sure they are not using the software. Users should always exit the software properly. The reset option should only be used when users are unable to exit the software properly due to problems with their computer such as lockups or power failures.
Network Caution: Resetting a user resets the user in the software only. If you are running on a network, you may also need to reset the user on the network in order to close files that may have been left open on the network. Therefore, if you are running on a network and have reset a user, make sure the user who was reset does the following: 1) logs off the network; and 2) logs back on the network. Doing this ensures that any files that were left open by the network are closed, thus eliminating potential Fatal Errors in the software.
Single User Note: If a non-manager user is locked out of the software as a result of networking or hardware issues, that same user can restart the software using the same User ID and password. A Duplicate User ID message may be displayed and the user can simply be reset. However, depending on the task, if any other user attempts to access the same system, the "Active user limit has been reached. Access Denied." error message will be displayed. If the user who was locked out cannot access the software again or is not available, a manager can reset the locked out user via System Configuration.
Platinum Note: In Platinum editions of the software, resetting a user first attempts to log off the user. If the user cannot be remotely logged off, the user will be reset. Users that are logged off will receive a log off notification, and will be noted in the reset and support logs. This prevents active users from being reset, and thus helps reduce the chance of data loss or errors.
Platinum Note: With Platinum installations that utilize the Exchange Connector to synchronize with Outlook, the users "ACCEL" or "EXCHNG" will be displayed in the Active User List when a periodic synchronization is in progress. These users will disconnect automatically when the synchronization is complete, and cannot be manually reset.
Platinum Note: In Platinum installations that have the Tabs3 Client Portal enabled, the user “PORTAL” will be displayed in the Active User List when a payment is being made via the Client Portal. This user will disconnect automatically when the task is complete, and cannot be manually reset.
Information regarding all resets is written to a log file named RESET.LOG. The RESET.LOG file can be accessed via the View | Log Files | Reset Log menus or can be accessed via any text editor such as Microsoft Notepad or WordPad. This file includes the system the reset was performed in, the date and time that the system was reset, which user on which computer performed the reset, which user was reset and the system that the reset user was in. The time is shown using military time in an Hours:Minutes:Seconds format. The following is an example of a line from a reset log file in which Julie was in Tabs3 and reset Ron in PracticeMaster on 10-21-2026:
System: T3 Date: 10-21-2026 Time: 14:02:10 User "JULIE" Computer: \\Server1 Reset User "RON" in PM.
If a user is in the software and is reset (a situation that should not occur), when that user ends the current task or attempts to start a new task, a message will be displayed indicating that system activity has been reset and the user must exit the program. When this message is displayed, a line similar to the following will be added to the RESET.LOG file for every active task that user had open. This line starts with two asterisks.
**System: PM Date: 10-21-2026 Time: 14:03:13 User "RON" was Reset while in Journal File.
The only time a user should be reset is when the user is NOT in the software. The RESET.LOG file should NOT have lines that start with asterisks. If the RESET.LOG has lines that start with asterisks, this indicates incorrect use of the reset feature by one or more users, which can cause data loss, data corruption, and fatal errors. We strongly recommend that appropriate measures are taken to ensure that resetting of users who are still in the software does not occur. This can consist of educating users to exit the software properly, educating users not to reset users who are in the software, and may include removing manager privileges from users so that resetting other users cannot be performed.
Note: In the event an application was closed unexpectedly (e.g., due to a power failure, network interruption, error, etc.), the Tabs3 Software will automatically reset a user’s previous session when that user logs in again (to prevent a duplicate user session). These resets are indicated by the letter “A” prepending the log entry.
| See also: | Selecting Multiple Users |
| Request Log Off | |
| Knowledge Base Article R10789 - Resetting Users | |
| Knowledge Base Article R10788 - Active User Limits |