| Deleting a Cost Entry |
To delete existing cost(s) from the Costs list
- In the Quick Launch, search for and select “Costs.”
- Select the desired cost(s).Multiple recordscan be selected.
- Click
on the toolbarto delete the cost(s). You will be prompted to confirm that you want to delete the cost(s).
To delete an existing cost from the Cost Entry window
- In the Quick Launch, search for and select “Cost Entry.”
- Click the Client
button and select the desired client. - Click the Reference
button and select the desired cost.
...or...
Double-click the cost shown in the Cost Entry List to select it. - Click
on the toolbar to delete the cost. You will be prompted to confirm that you want to delete the cost.
Note: A user will not be able to delete a cost entry unless that user has been assigned access rights to delete cost entries.
AP Integration Note: Deleting a cost transaction that was created by AP will not delete the associated AP invoice. If integrated with GL, deleting an advance cost will create adjusting journal entries using the accounts defined in the GLS Accounts Table for Advanced Client Costs Write Offs and Write-Downs. For unposted invoices, these are shown on the General Ledger tab of the Invoice/Manual Check Entry window in AP and will be made in GL when the invoice is posted.
GL Integration Note: Deleting a cost transaction that
has GL journal entries associated with it will automatically generate reversing GL journal entries with
the same date as the original journal entries. (Note: Reversing journal entries are not created for cost transactions entered before Tabs3 Billing Version 11. Adjusting GL journal entries must be made
using GL.)
If the associated cost transaction has been cleared, reconciled, or deposited in GL, a warning message will be displayed to confirm that you want adjusting journal entries to be posted.
QuickBooks Note: Deleting a cost transaction in Tabs3 Billing that has QuickBooks
journal entries associated with it does not delete or reverse the journal entries in QuickBooks. Adjusting
journal entries must be made manually.
Furthermore, deleting a cost transaction in Tabs3 Billing does not delete the corresponding Bill in QuickBooks.
The Bill in QuickBooks must also be deleted,
voided or placed on an Invoice or Statement. Otherwise, the cost will be added back into Tabs3 Billing when
the Merge
QuickBooks Data with Tabs3 utility is run.
Note: Transactions that have been included on a pre-bill cannot be deleted. When drilling down to the transaction from the Pre-Bill Information window, click
to remove the transaction from the pre-bill. You will be prompted to confirm that you want to remove the transaction. Attempting to delete transactions from outside this window will display a message that the transaction cannot be deleted, unless the user has rights to Modify Pre-Bill Transactions Outside of Pre-Bills.
Note: Transactions that have been included on a final statement cannot be deleted.
| See also: | Toolbar Buttons |