| Update Associated Contacts Window |
The Update Associated Contacts window is displayed when one or more of the business fields of an organization contact are edited and one or more individual contacts are associated with the organization. This window lets you designate which associated contacts you also want changed, thus allowing you to decide which associated contacts will share the same business information, and whether any contacts will maintain unique information. In some instances, such as when dealing with inactive contacts, it may be preferable to leave the contact information in its current state, rather than updating it to match the organization contact.
The following columns are displayed in this dialog to help you identify the contact(s) and field(s) that will be changed.
|
|
Select the The The Actual changes to the associated contacts do not occur until you click OK. |
| Contact ID |
The Contact ID column displays the contact ID of the contact who is associated with the updated organization contact record. You can click the contact ID to open the contact record in a separate window and view the complete value of the Field. The contact ID of an inactive contact is displayed in parentheses. |
| Full Name | The Full Name column displays the contents of the Full Name field for the contact who is associated with the updated organization contact record. |
| Field |
The Field column displays the field that was updated in the organization contact record. This is the field that may be updated for the contacts in the table. If more than one business field was updated before the organization contact was saved, multiple lines will be listed for each associated contact. Each line requests that you confirm the proposed value update. |
| Old Value |
The Old Value column displays the current value for the field listed in the Field column for the associated contact. This is the value that will be overwritten if you choose to update the contact. When an address is changed, only the first line is shown in the Value. You can click the linked contact in the Contact ID column to view the full address. |
| New Value | The New Value column displays the value for the field listed in the Field column for the organization contact. This is the value that will replace the Old Value if you choose to update the associated contact. |
Click OK to confirm that you want to update the field(s) for the selected contact(s) displayed in the window.
Click Cancel to return to the Contact Information window without updating the associated contact(s).
After you click OK, a Confirm Contact Changes window may be displayed if the updated associated contact is used in the Client Name, Contact Name, or Bill To Name field of a client. This window is displayed because changing one of these contacts may affect where a statement will be sent for a client.
Note: This window is not displayed when changing the address for a secure client or matter mode client.