As a general rule of thumb, we recommend marking contacts as inactive as opposed to deleting them. Conflict of interest checking is not available for deleted contact information.

How to Mark a Contact as Inactive

How to Delete a Contact

How to Mark a Contact as Inactive

   To mark a contact as inactive from the Contacts list

  1. From the File menu, point to Open, and then select Contacts.
  2. Double-click the desired contact to open the Contact Information window.
  3. Select the Inactive check box.
  4. Click on the toolbar to save the changes.

   To mark a contact as inactive from the Contact Information window

  1. From the File menu, point to Data Entry, and then select Contact.
  2. Click the button and select the desired contact.
  3. Select the Inactive check box.
  4. Click to save the contact as inactive.

How to Delete a Contact

   To delete an existing contact from the Contacts list

  1. From the File menu, point to Open, and then select Contacts.
  2. Select the desired contact.
  3. Click to delete the contact. You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete the contact.

   To delete an existing contact from the Contact Information window

  1. From the File menu, point to Data Entry, and then select Contact.
  2. Click the button and select the desired contact.
  3. Click to delete the contact. You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete the contact.

After confirming that you want to delete the contact, a warning may be displayed indicating that the contact is currently in use. Tabs3 Billing will prevent you from deleting of the contact if that contact is present in the Client Name, Contact Name or Bill To Name fields of the Client file. Additional restrictions may be present based on the contact's use in PracticeMaster and/or Tabs3 Trust Accounting.

Notes About Deleting a Contact

You may want to print the contact information before deleting the contact.

Conflict of Interest - Deleted contacts are not available for conflict of interest checking.

Access Rights - In order to delete a contact, your User ID must be configured with access rights to delete contacts.

Tabs3 Billing - Deleting a contact in any Tabs3 Software application will delete the contact in Tabs3 Billing. You will be prevented from deleting a contact if the contact is present in the Client Name, Contact Name or Bill To Name fields of the Client file.

PracticeMaster - Deleting a contact in any Tabs3 Software application will delete the contact in PracticeMaster. You will be prevented from deleting a contact if the contact is referenced in any PracticeMaster records. This information is displayed for the selected contact on the Contact Usage tab of the Contact file in PracticeMaster. If a contact is integrated with Microsoft Outlook using PracticeMaster, deleting it may remove the contact from Outlook depending on your current integration settings. You will also be prevented from deleting a contact if the PracticeMaster contact file is inaccessible at the time of deletion or being synchronized with Tabs3 Billing (indicated by PM PENDING in the Status Bar).

Trust - Deleting a contact in any Tabs3 Software application will delete that contact in Tabs3 Trust Accounting. You will be prevented from deleting the contact if the contact is present in the Client Name or Contact Name fields of the Trust Account file, or the Payee Name field of the Payee file.

AP - Deleting a contact in any Tabs3 Software application will delete that contact in Tabs3 Accounts Payable. You will be prevented from deleting the contact if the contact is present in the Name field of the Vendor file.

System Configuration - Deleting a contact in any Tabs3 Software application will delete that contact in System Configuration. You will be prevented from deleting the contact if the contact is present in the User Name field of the User file.

See also:   Toolbar Buttons