The Lock Out All Users menu option allows any manager to lock all other users out of all Tabs3 software applications. This feature makes it easier for the manager to perform exclusive tasks.

This feature is available in all Tabs3 software products, but can only be accessed by a manager. When this menu option is selected, one of two things will occur:

The following options are available in the Lock Out All Users window:

  Reason Provide a reason for the lockout. Maximum of 50 characters, and defaults to the name of the task you are attempting to perform.
  Keep users locked out for

Amount of time the lockout will be in effect. The lockout will end automatically once this time limit is reached unless the lockout is extended. Available options are:

  • 15 minutes
  • 30 minutes
  • 1 hour
  • 4 hours
  • Indefinite

The following occurs while the software is locked:

Caution: Do not reset users. Other managers should not reset a manager who has locked the software. Resetting other active users may cause Fatal Errors to occur during program execution and may cause data corruption.

Note: If the system is locked but the manager who locked the system is not in the software (i.e., the manager exited the software improperly, which could be caused by a power failure, networking issues, etc.), then any manager can launch the software and override the lockout via the Tabs3 Software Locked and Unlock Tabs3 Software windows.