The Conflicting Activities window is displayed when an exclusive task is launched and conflicting activities are open in the software. This window displays either "Activities Must Be Closed Before Proceeding" or “Users Must Exit Before Proceeding “ (if the window was opened via Lock Out All Users) at the top of the window. Information regarding which users and activities are currently preventing the requested task from starting is shown below this information. Each conflicting activity lists the following information:

User ID The User ID of the person accessing the software.
User Name The User Name assigned to the User ID.
System The software product in which the user is performing the conflicting activity.
Computer Name The name of the computer from which the specified user is performing the conflicting activity.
Current Activity The specific activity that is causing the conflict.
Start Time The date and time the conflicting at activity was started.

Note: If the Current Activity indicates that a user is accessing the "System Menu" of a software product, the user must completely exit the software in order for the conflict to be resolved.

In order for the requested task to start, all conflicting activities must be resolved. This can be accomplished by having the listed users complete or cancel the activities they are performing. As conflicting activities are resolved, the Conflicting Activities window will automatically refresh itself every five seconds to display the most current system status. Once all conflicting activities are resolved, your requested task will begin automatically.

Note: When using the non-Platinum edition of the software, other users will be prevented from starting tasks that would interfere with the one you are currently attempting to start while this window is open.

The Request Log Off button is only available in Platinum editions of the software. The Request Log Off button can be used to display a Request Log Off window. This allows you to send users a notification requesting that they log off, or to safely log off each user who is listed in the Conflicting Activities window after a selected amount of time, while notifying them of the reason they are being logged off.

After an automatic Log Off has been initiated, the Request Log Off window will close, the Request Log Off button will be unavailable, and a status will be displayed at the bottom of the Conflicting Activities window. This status will include a timer indicating the time remaining before the log off will occur. Once the users have been logged off, the Conflicting Activities window will close, and your requested task will begin automatically.

Closing the Conflicting Activities window before the timer expires will cancel the log off and notify affected users that the log off has been canceled.

The Cancel button can be used to cancel your requested task and close the Conflicting Activities window. This will also cancel any log off in progress and notify affected users that the log off has been canceled.

Platinum Note: The User IDs "ACCEL" or "EXCHNG" cannot be logged off from this window. These User IDs are assigned to Outlook synchronization processes, and will automatically log off when their tasks are complete. Alternatively, keeping the Conflicting Activities window active for 30 seconds will force the task(s) to abort, thus allowing the requested task to start.

Platinum Note: The User ID “PORTAL” cannot be logged off from this window. This User ID is used when a payment is being made via the Client Portal, and will automatically log off when the task is complete. Alternatively, keeping the Conflicting Activities window active for 30 seconds will force the payment task to abort, thus allowing the requested task to start.

See also:  Knowledge Base Article R11272 - Conflicting Activities