The Send Tabs3 Data to QuickBooks program is used to send Tabs3 client and cost records to QuickBooks. This program will typically be used only once since integration from Tabs3 to QuickBooks is automatic. This program is provided specifically for firms who have been using Tabs3 and implement QuickBooks after the Tabs3 data files have already been established.

The QuickBooks Integration window gives you the ability to specify the Tabs3 file information that you want transferred to QuickBooks. Options include Clients, Costs, or All.

Note: It is recommended that the Send Tabs3 Data to QuickBooks program is run for just clients before costs are sent to QuickBooks. This is because Tabs3 allows different Client IDs to have the same name, however QuickBooks doesn't allow two Customers to have the same name. If costs exist in Tabs3 for both Clients, only transactions for one of the clients will be sent to QuickBooks because only one client will get added to QuickBooks. Running the Send Tabs3 Data to QuickBooks program for only clients first will allow you to find out which clients have duplicate names before trying to send their costs to QuickBooks.

Note: The Send Tabs3 Data to QuickBooks program will not post General Journal Entries to QuickBooks for existing payments in Tabs3.

The OK button can be used to begin the integration process. During the integration process, various counts are displayed indicating how far along the process is. Upon completion of the merge process, the message "Task Complete" will be displayed.

If errors were encountered during the merge process, a Print dialog box will be displayed allowing you to print a QuickBooks Integration Error Log. The Error Log is also saved to a disk file named STQBERR.LOG in the Tabs3 program directory. This field can be opened with a text editor if necessary.

The Cancel button will close the window without sending the data. Once this process has started, it cannot be aborted.

Notes

If QuickBooks data already exists, a message will be displayed warning that data may be duplicated. Clients are not duplicated; however, costs are always added regardless if the exact same transaction already exists. If the customer already exists in QuickBooks, this process will update the QuickBooks customer information.

Client information must be transferred before costs. If a client does not exist in QuickBooks, then transactions for that client will not be added.

Archived costs are not transferred to QuickBooks.

See also:   Technical Notes and Error Messages