| PracticeMaster Integration Overview |
Tabs3 Billing integrates with PracticeMaster when installed in the same directory as Tabs3 Billing. Information that is used by PracticeMaster is stored in mirrored data files. Mirrored data files have different names in PracticeMaster and Tabs3 Billing; however they store much of the same information. For example, the client data files in Tabs3 Billing are T3CLIENT.DAT and T3CLIENT.IDX. In PracticeMaster, the client data files are CMCLIENT.DAT and CMCLIENT.IDX. A complete list of mirrored data files is included in the PracticeMaster Help.
Note: Tabs3 Billing and PracticeMaster must be installed in the same directory in order to integrate.
Although synchronization is automatic, the following situations can require that the mirrored data files be synced using the Synchronize Tabs3 and PracticeMaster utility.
- the PracticeMaster application is installed in the same program directory as an existing Tabs3 Software application;
- another Tabs3 Software application is installed in the same program directory as an existing PracticeMaster application;
- when data is imported into PracticeMaster; or
- a Data File Integrity Check reports an error 500.
Once the Tabs3 Billing data files and PracticeMaster data files are synchronized, integration between Tabs3 Billing and PracticeMaster consists of the following:
- The Tabs3 Billing client information and the PracticeMaster client information
is stored in mirrored data files.
After a client is added using Tabs3 Billing, the client will automatically be displayed in PracticeMaster. You can then specify the client's Area of Practice, Contacts, etc. for the client in PracticeMaster.
When a client is added using PracticeMaster, the client will automatically be displayed in Tabs3 Billing. You can then specify the client's status, statement options, etc. in Tabs3 Billing.
Changes made to common fields are automatically made in the other system. For example, changing a client's default address will change the address in PracticeMaster and vice versa.
Deleting a client in Tabs3 Billing also removes the client from PracticeMaster. - PracticeMaster contacts mirror Tabs3 Billing, Trust, AP, and System Configuration contacts.
After a contact is added using Tabs3 Billing (or Trust, AP, or System Configuration), the contact will automatically be displayed in PracticeMaster. You can then specify the Category, etc. for the contact in PracticeMaster.
When a contact is added using PracticeMaster, the contact will automatically be displayed in Tabs3 Billing, Trust, AP, and System Configuration.
Changes made to common fields are automatically made in all applications. For example, changing a contact's phone number will change the phone number in PracticeMaster and vice versa.
Deleting a contact in Tabs3 Billing also removes the contact from PracticeMaster.
- PracticeMaster Billing System Lookup files mirror Tabs3 Billing data files.
Changes made to the Billing System Lookup Files (i.e., Timekeeper, Category, Transaction Code, Task Code and Location) can only be performed in Tabs3 Billing. - The PracticeMaster fees and costs mirror Tabs3 Billing fee and cost records.
Fee and cost records added in Tabs3 Billing are automatically copied to the PracticeMaster mirrored fee and cost files. Likewise, fee and cost records added in PracticeMaster are automatically copied to the Tabs3 Billing fee and cost files. Additional fields in Tabs3 Billing that are not used in PracticeMaster (i.e., Status) will be assigned the default value in Tabs3 Billing.
Only transactions using a Type 0 or Type 5 transaction code in Tabs3 Billing will be displayed in PracticeMaster.
When a cost entry is added to Tabs3 General Ledger (GL) via Tabs3 Billing, GL journal entries are created and the cost entry will automatically be synchronized to PracticeMaster. When Tabs3 Billing is integrated with GL, costs entered in PracticeMaster will automatically be synchronized to Tabs3 Billing; however, those costs will not create journal entries in GL.Archived fees and costs can optionally be synchronized to PracticeMaster’s fee and cost files. This allows PracticeMaster users to use archived records in reports and Conflict of Interest searches. However, keeping archived transactions in PracticeMaster will make the fee and cost files larger and can slow down performance. You can limit the number of archived transactions by selecting to only synchronize records for a limited period.Note: Archived records can be limited by period when using the Synchronize Tabs3 and PracticeMaster utility. Records that have already been synchronized are not affected by this limit.
- Tabs3 Billing Client Notes are also stored in PracticeMaster's Journal File.
When Client Notes are added in Tabs3 Billing, they are copied to PracticeMaster's Journal File. However, information added to the Journal File in PracticeMaster is not added to Tabs3 Billing. Likewise, you cannot make changes to the Tabs3 Billing Client Notes in PracticeMaster's Journal File. You can see Tabs3 Billing Client Notes in the Journal file, or in the PracticeMaster Client file on the Billing tab (provided Configure Client Pages has the Tabs3 Billing Notes Only Journal Page check box enabled). - Secure clients in Tabs3 Billing are also secure clients in PracticeMaster.
A client saved in Tabs3 Billing as a secure client is also saved in PracticeMaster as a secure client. Likewise, a client saved as a secure client in PracticeMaster is also saved as a secure client in Tabs3 Billing. - Assigned timekeepers to users in Tabs3 Billing are also assigned timekeepers in PracticeMaster.
Timekeepers in Tabs3 Billing and PracticeMaster can be assigned to a User ID by selecting the Assign Tabs3/PracticeMaster Timekeepers check box in System Configuration. - Renumbering in Tabs3 Billing renumbers in PracticeMaster.
Renumbering a client in Tabs3 Billing renumbers the client in PracticeMaster (and Trust). Likewise, renumbering a client in PracticeMaster renumbers the client in Tabs3 Billing (and Trust).
Renumbering a timekeeper, transaction code or category in Tabs3 Billing renumbers the timekeeper, transaction code or category in PracticeMaster. Likewise, renumbering a timekeeper, transaction code or category in PracticeMaster renumbers the timekeeper, transaction code or category in Tabs3 Billing. - Tabs3 Billing and PracticeMaster use the same Key Type.
Changing the Key Type in Tabs3 Billing also changes the Key Type in PracticeMaster. Likewise, changing the Key Type in PracticeMaster changes the Key Type in Tabs3 Billing. - Tabs3 Billing Text Macros mirror PracticeMaster Text Macros.
Text Macros added in Tabs3 Billing automatically be displayed as PracticeMaster Text Macros. Likewise, Text Macros added in PracticeMaster automatically be displayed as Tabs3 Billing Text Macros. - Tabs3 Billing and PracticeMaster share the same spelling dictionaries.
Changes made to the spelling dictionaries in Tabs3 Billing will change the PracticeMaster spelling dictionaries. - The Matter Manager in Tabs3 Billing allows access to PracticeMaster's Matter Manager.
The Matter Manager window in Tabs3 Billing includes a View in PracticeMaster link. Clicking the View in PracticeMaster link opens a PracticeMaster Matter Manager window displaying PracticeMaster information for the client. Likewise, the Matter Manager window in PracticeMaster includes a Tabs3 button. Clicking the Tabs3 button opens a Tabs3 Billing Matter Manager window with the client's Tabs3 Billing information. - Processing time and phone tasks in PracticeMaster creates fee records in Tabs3 Billing.
Once a time or phone task is created in PracticeMaster, the Process Timer Records utility can be used to create fee records in PracticeMaster, which are automatically synchronized to Tabs3 Billing. - The Status of pending integration is shown on the Status Bar and in the About Tabs3
Billing utility.
The Status Bar displays PM PENDING when changes are made to Tabs3 Billing data files and the mirrored data file is not available. Once the mirrored PracticeMaster data file becomes available, Tabs3 Billing will automatically pass the information to PracticeMaster and then clear the status indicator. The About Tabs3 Billing and About PracticeMaster windows also indicate the synchronization status.
Trust Integration Note: Trust accounts added in Tabs3 Trust Accounting (Trust) are automatically added as clients in Tabs3 Billing and PracticeMaster. A client with a trust account cannot be deleted using Tabs3 Billing or PracticeMaster.
| See also: | Synchronize Tabs3 Billing and PracticeMaster |
| Transfer Billing Lookup Files from PracticeMaster | |
| Knowledge Base Article R11139 - Integration from Tabs3 to Other Tabs3 Software Applications | |
| Integration Guide |