| Deleting a Category |
To delete an existing category
- From the File menu, select Open, and then click Miscellaneous.
- Click the Category tab.
- Click the
button and select the desired category. - Click
on the toolbar to delete the category. You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete the category.
- A category cannot be deleted if it is assigned to any clients. If you want to delete a category that is currently assigned to clients, use the Change Client Options program to assign a different category to these clients.
- A category cannot be deleted if it is assigned to any work-in-process fee transactions. If you want to delete a category that is currently assigned to transactions, use the Change WIP Transactions program to assign a different category to these transactions.
- Deleting a category does not delete billed amounts for that category. Any billed amounts for the deleted category are still linked to that category number. If the deleted category number is reused without being renumbered, any billed amounts for the new category number will be combined with the billed amounts for the old category number. Therefore, we strongly recommend that you renumber the category instead of deleting the category. Renumbering a category will move the billed amounts for the old category number to the new category number. If you delete a category instead of renumbering it, the billed amounts for the category will print on the productivity reports, but the category name will be blank. The billed amounts are retained in order to preserve ledger integrity for clients and transactions that were billed using the deleted category.
- Deleting a category does not affect the archive files.
| See also: | Toolbar Buttons |