The Login Credentials panel of the Add New User wizard allows you to specify the login information for the new user.

User ID

A User ID must be entered by the user when the software is started.

Maximum of 8 characters. Enter a unique 8-character User ID. Only letters, numbers and the underscore character ("_") are allowed for a User ID. All alphabetical characters are automatically shifted to uppercase letters.

The default User ID is the first eight characters of the string comprised of the user’s First Name followed by the first character of their Last Name, as specified on the Contact Information panel. Additional characters will be added if this results in a duplicate User ID.

PracticeMaster Tip: This field can be used in PracticeMaster documents and reports. To take advantage of this feature, you may want to consider using initials instead of a name in the User ID field.

How will this user authenticate their logon information?

  Enter Password

Select this option if the user will be prompted for a password when logging in to the software.

A Password has a maximum of 20 characters and only allows uppercase letters. A password should be unique yet easy to remember. One of the most commonly used passwords is a person's first name followed by a number. This type of password is very easy to break. Be creative in your choice of passwords and consider changing passwords on a regular basis.

Implementing strong password procedures is recommended. Strong passwords consist of 8 or more characters (14 or more is ideal), with a combination of numbers, letters and symbols.

Note: Passwords are optional, but recommended.

Re-enter the password in the Confirm Password field. Both fields must match in order to save the user. If the passwords do not match, a warning will be displayed and you will be prompted to reconfirm the password.

Note: For security purposes, both password fields are masked. If a password is forgotten, a manager must enter and confirm a new password for the user.

 

Use Windows Account

Select this option to allow the user to log in using their Windows user account. Using this feature, firms can limit users accessing Tabs3 Software to those logged in as a specific Windows user. Only users logged in to Windows with the specified account can log in to Tabs3 Software with the selected User ID.

Specify the Account name for a Windows domain user. This field has autofill capabilities, and will be validated with Active Directory Domain Services. The Windows domain and user name will be shown below. If the specified user was validated with Active Directory Domain Services, the text “Account Verified” is displayed.

Platinum Note: The Windows Authentication method is only available in the Platinum SQL edition of Tabs3 Software. Additional information about using a Windows Account as an authentication method can be found in Knowledge Base Article R11935, “Using Windows Authentication to Log in to Tabs3 Software.”

  This user will not log in to Tabs3 Software

Select this option if the user will not log into the Tabs3 Software.

Note: If the user is not a logon user and is not a timekeeper, a contact will not be created or linked to the new user, and the specified information will be stored in the User Configuration window in System Configuration.

If the user is not a logon user but is a timekeeper, a contact will be created and linked to the new user, and the user will be created as though the Enter Password option was selected; however, the user cannot log into the Tabs3 Software, as no access profile is assigned.

PracticeMaster Note: PracticeMaster's calendaring feature allows the ability to schedule and reserve firm resources such as conference rooms, video equipment, laptop computers, etc. In order to schedule these resources, the resource must be defined as a user. A resource user that is defined for scheduling purposes will not be logging in to the software.

The information on this panel is used to populate User Configuration settings in System Configuration.

The Back and Next buttons can be used to move from panel to panel.

The Finish button will be shown when all of the user information has been entered.

The Cancel button will close the Add New User wizard without creating a user, discarding any changes.