| Deleting a Timekeeper |
Note: Because Tabs3 retains productivity by timekeeper number for previously
billed information, we strongly recommend renumbering the timekeeper instead of deleting
the timekeeper. See the Notes section below for more information on deleting a timekeeper.
If you have limited timekeeper numbers, you may want to consider using your largest timekeeper
number for all timekeepers who have left the firm. If you need to upgrade Tabs3 to have additional timekeepers, please contact your local Tabs3 consultant or our Sales
Department.
To delete an existing timekeeper
- From the File menu, select Open, and then click Miscellaneous.
- By default, the Timekeeper tab is selected. Click the
button and select the desired timekeeper. - Click
on the toolbar to delete the timekeeper. You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete the timekeeper.
- A timekeeper cannot be deleted if the timekeeper is assigned to any clients. If you want to delete a timekeeper that is currently assigned to clients, either renumber the timekeeper or use the Change Client Options program to assign a different timekeeper to these clients.
- A timekeeper cannot be deleted if it is assigned to any work-in-process fee or cost transactions. If you want to delete a timekeeper that is currently assigned to transactions, renumber the timekeeper.
- A timekeeper cannot be deleted if the timekeeper is assigned to a fee rate table or a fee compensation rules table.
- Deleting a timekeeper does not affect the archive files. Any previously billed transactions are still linked to the timekeeper number.
- Deleting a timekeeper does not delete billed amounts for that timekeeper. Any billed amounts for the deleted timekeeper are still linked to that timekeeper number. If the deleted timekeeper number is reused without being renumbered, any billed amounts for the new timekeeper number will be combined with the billed amounts for the old timekeeper number. Therefore, we strongly recommend that you renumber the timekeeper instead of deleting the timekeeper. Renumbering a timekeeper will move the billed amounts for the old timekeeper number to the new timekeeper number. If you delete a timekeeper instead of renumbering it, the billed amounts for the timekeeper will print on the productivity reports, but the timekeeper name will be blank. The billed amounts are retained in order to preserve ledger integrity for clients and transactions that were billed by the deleted timekeeper.
| See also: | Toolbar Buttons |
| Knowledge Base Article R10969 - Renumbering vs. Deleting Inactive Timekeepers |