| Notes on Merging Remote Data |
Keep in mind the following when merging remote data:
|
|
If all transactions successfully merge and no error codes are generated, the "RMT*.*" files in the Tabs3 Billing working directory will be deleted. However, if errors are generated, you will be asked if you want to delete the remote data files (RMT*.*). Each transaction that is successfully merged will be marked as such. (Note: If errors of only 35, 36 or 37 are received, the files will be deleted.) | ||||
|
|
If a fee transaction was entered at the remote site with a zero (0) in the Category field, the Merge Tabs3 Remote Data utility will automatically change the category to match the client's assigned category when the transaction is merged with the main Tabs3 Billing data files. | ||||
|
|
If a fee transaction was entered with both the Rate and Amount fields as zero (0), the Merge Tabs3 Remote Data utility will automatically change the Rate and Amount fields by entering the default billing rate and then computing the Amount field by multiplying the Hours times the Rate. If you specifically want the Amount to be zero (0) and not computed by the Merge Tabs3 Remote Data utility, then the transaction must be entered at the remote site with a Rate greater than zero. | ||||
|
|
Zero amount transactions are merged into Tabs3 Billing. | ||||
|
|
Billable transactions (i.e., transactions with a Bill Code of "0" or "3") that were entered for non-billable clients will be merged as non-billable transactions with a Bill Code of "2". | ||||
|
|
Sales tax rate codes are specified in Tabs3 Billing Remote. However, if a transaction from Tabs3 Billing Remote with a sales tax rate code of 1-9 is merged into Tabs3 Billing for a non-billable client, Tabs3 Billing will automatically change the sales tax rate code to "0 - nontaxable". | ||||
|
|
If a cost transaction was entered at the remote site with a zero (0) in the Timekeeper field, the Merge Tabs3 Remote Data utility will automatically change the timekeeper to match the client's assigned primary timekeeper when the transaction is merged with the main Tabs3 Billing data files. | ||||
|
|
Payment transactions (Type 1, 2, or 3) and client funds transactions cannot be entered in Tabs3 Billing Remote. | ||||
|
|
Transactions that are merged with no description are treated differently depending on whether or not the transaction code validation file was present at the remote site when the transaction was saved on the remote computer.
|
||||
|
|
Although Tabs3 Billing Remote supports task based billing, it is possible to enter non-task based billing transactions for a task based billing client if validation files are not used or the client is not present in the validation files. These transactions need to be edited after merging. Otherwise, the Data File Integrity Check will report error 81s. | ||||
|
|
Tabs3 Billing gives you the ability to assign a task code to a specific category. It is possible to enter fees for a category not assigned to a specific task code set in Tabs3 Billing Remote. Tabs3 Billing Remote does not check each transaction to verify that the phase/task specified is in the task code set for the category. | ||||
|
|
Transactions for secure clients cannot be merged unless the user performing the merge has access rights to the client. If the user does not have access rights to the secure client, the transaction will be rejected and will be included on the error list with an error 10. | ||||
|
|
Transactions for all timekeepers are merged regardless of whether the user performing the merge has been assigned access rights for that timekeeper. | ||||
|
|
Tabs3 Billing stores the User ID who entered the transaction and the Date Entered; however, Tabs3 Billing Remote does not. Therefore, when transactions are merged into Tabs3 Billing, the logged in User ID who is performing the merge is used for the User ID and the date the merge is performed is used for the Date Entered. | ||||
|
|
Transactions merged by the Merge Tabs3 Remote Data utility are sorted by client before being merged. | ||||
|