The Fee Compensation Rules Table window can be accessed by clicking the Fee Compensation Rules button on the Setup tab of the Client file. This window allows you to add, change or delete a fee compensation rules table for a client.

There is no limit to the number of fee compensation rules that can be included in the table. Payment allocation of fees is performed based on the order of the defined rules in a top-down manner as they are shown in the table. You can use Ctrl+Up or to move the highlighted rule up; likewise, you can use Ctrl+Down or to move the highlighted rule down.

When a fee compensation rules table exists for a client, the label "%'s Defined" will be displayed below the Fee Compensation Rules button. When a fee compensation rules table does not exist for a client, the label "%'s Not Defined" will be displayed below the Fee Compensation Rules button.

Note: The Fee Compensation Rules button will not be available unless the user has been assigned access rights to browse or edit fee compensation rules.

The following fields are displayed in the Fee Compensation Rules Table window:

Client ID

Source

Custom

Shared

Use Existing Table

Table to Use

Rule Information

Timekeeper

Name

Type

Receipt %

Taken From

Begin Date

End Date

From Amount

To Amount
 

The New button or double-clicking a blank row can be used to add a new fee compensation rule. A new Fee Compensation Rule window will be opened.

The Edit button or double-clicking a rule can be used to edit the highlighted fee compensation rule. A Fee Compensation Rule window will be opened with the selected rule.

The Delete button can be used to delete the highlighted rule from the table. Only one rule can be deleted at a time using this button.

The Clear All button can be used to clear all fee compensation rules in the table.

The OK button can be used to close the Fee Compensation Rules Table window. Any changes made to the rules will be saved when the client is saved. However, if you close the Client window without saving the client, any changes to the fee compensation rules table will not be saved.

The Cancel button can be used to close the Fee Compensation Rules Table window without saving any changes made to the rules.

Note: New or changed fee compensation rules will not apply to payments that are already allocated. If you want new or changed fee compensation rules to apply to a previously allocated payment, you will need to go through the steps to change payment allocations on the allocated payment after the fee compensation rules have been added or changed.

Note: If a fee compensation rules table is shared, you will be prevented from saving the client if you clear all the fee compensation rules in the table. You must either add at least one rule to the table or remove the shared fee compensation rules table from all of the clients who are assigned to it. To determine which clients use the shared table, preview a Fee Compensation Rules Report for all clients. Use the Search feature to search the entire report for the Client ID whose shared table you want to delete. This will show you the clients that share that table. You will need to edit those clients so that they no longer use that table.

Note: Fee compensation rules that include a statement date range can only be defined for clients whose Receipt Allocation by Invoice check box is selected. If a date range is defined, the dates are ignored when shared with a client whose Receipt Allocation by Invoice check box is cleared. It is important to be aware of this feature when modifying a Fee Compensation Rules Table to include a date range.

GLS Integration Note: Fee Compensation Rules can be used when posting GLS journal entries for payments allocated to fees.

See also:   Fee Compensation Rules Overview
  Fee Compensation Rules Report
  Examples of Rules
  How Fee Compensation Rules Affect GLS Integration