After writing off a client's entire balance, you will be given the opportunity to change the client's status to inactive or delete the client. These options are provided because they are common activities once a client has been written off.

Leave Client Active Select this option if you do not want to change the client to inactive or delete the client.
Change Client's billing status to Inactive Select this option if you want to change the client to inactive. If you select this option, the Close Date field will become available. The date entered in this field will be written to the Date Closed field on the Address tab in the Client file.

Note: This option is not available if your User ID does not have access rights for changing clients.

  The button can be used to open a Calendar window that allows you to select a date. (See also: Date Field Conventions)
Delete Client Select this option if you want to delete the client.

Caution: Deleted clients are not available for conflict of interest checking. If you delete the client, you will not be able to print a Receipt Allocation Report, Client Productivity Report, Client Ledger Report, Cash Receipts Report, or Write-Up/Write-Down Report for the client. If you want to maintain report totals or history for a client, change the client's status to Inactive instead of deleting the client. (See also: Deleting a Client)

Note: This option is not available if your User ID does not have access rights for deleting clients.