| Restore Data Files |
|
|||||||||||||||
The Restore Data Files program is used to restore the data files for all software products installed in the current working directory. The program restores the data from the last backup file created with the Back Up Data Files program.
Note: To run the Restore Data Files program, all other users must exit all software products. Attempting to run the Restore Data Files program with other users in the software will open a Conflicting Activities window. Conflicting activities must be resolved before proceeding with the restoration.
The following options are available in the Restore Data Files window:
| Select a Backup to Restore | This drop-down list will allow the user to select from the 3 most recent backups. If a backup doesn't exist, this drop-down list will be blank. | |
| Data to Be Restored | This section provides information about the data that will be restored. | |
| Date | The date and time of the backup file that will be used when restoring the data. | |
| Created By | The User ID that was used to create the backup file. | |
| Type | The type of the last backup file, indicated as "All Systems". | |
| Description | Displays what was entered in the Description field as the backup was created. | |
| Back up the current data before restoring | ||
|
Select this option to automatically create a backup file before the data files are restored. The backup file will overwrite an existing backup file upon a successful restore. Clear this option to skip the creation of a backup file before restoring the data files. Clearing this option will allow the restored data files to overwrite your existing data without first creating a backup of your existing data. |
||
Caution: Restoring data files will overwrite your current data files. As a precaution, it is always recommended that you leave this option selected when running the Restore Data Files program.
Caution: Restoring a backup restores all GL Clients, including those not configured to integrate with Tabs3 Billing.
The OK button will begin the restoration process by opening the Restore Data Files Progress window. If the option to Back up the current data before restoring was selected, a warning message will be displayed stating that the oldest backup will be deleted when the restore process is complete, as well as which backup will be deleted. If you choose to continue, the backup file will be created before restoring the data files. The backup file is created in the same manner used in the Back Up Data Files program. Once the backup file is created successfully, the restoration will automatically begin.
The Restore Data Files Progress window contains the following information.
| Progress | This section provides information about the progress of the restoration. | |
| System | The System column lists the currently installed products that will have their data files restored. | |
| Backup | The Backup column indicates when a product has been backed
up successfully. Once this occurs, a |
|
Note: This column is only used when the option to Back up the current data before restoring is selected.
| Restore | The Restore column indicates when a product has been restored successfully.
Once this occurs, a |
As the data files are restored, two progress meters are displayed in the Progress section of the Restore Data Files window. The top meter indicates the progress of the restoration for each individual product as its data files are restored. The bottom meter indicates the overall progress of the entire restoration process.
Upon completion, the message "Restore Successful. The program will now close." is displayed. To finalize the restoration, the software must be restarted. Therefore, clicking OK will automatically close the software. Starting the software again will allow you to continue with your newly restored data files.
The Abort button can be used to stop the backup procedure and abort the restoration. The Abort button is available only while the backup file is being made. Aborting the backup will also abort the Restore Data Files program. A message will be displayed indicating that the data files were not restored.
The Cancel button will close the dialog box without restoring the data files.
Note: If Outlook calendar and contact synchronization is enabled, it is important for each user to carefully review the confirmation window during the initial synchronization after restoring. See Outlook Synchronization After Restoring for more information.
Note: Once the actual restoring of data files begins, the process cannot be canceled or aborted.
Note: After restoring your data, it is recommended that you run a Data File Integrity Check in each software product to verify there are no errors in the data that was restored.
Platinum Note: When using the Platinum edition of the software, the Restore Data Files menu option is replaced by the Restore HotBackup menu option.
Note: Any credit card transactions that were processed through Tabs3 Pay®, LawPay®, or LexCharge® in Tabs3 Billing or Trust are still present in their respective systems, regardless of whether they were lost during the restore process. You will need to reenter these transactions without creating new Tabs3 Pay, LawPay, or LexCharge transactions. See Knowledge Base Article R10834, “Restoring Tabs3 Software Data from a Backup,” for more information.
| See also: | Technical Information |
| Knowledge Base Article R10834 - Restoring Tabs3 Software Data from a Backup | |
| Knowledge Base Article R11524 - Backup/Restore Information Resources |