To add a new cost from the Costs list

  1. From the File menu, point to Open, and then select Costs.
  2. Click on the toolbar to open the Cost Entry window.
  3. Enter the desired information for the cost entry.
  4. Click on the toolbar to save the new cost entry.

The default Client ID for the new cost transaction will be the same as the transaction selected on the Costs list. The Amount field will be set to zero for the new transaction and the Timekeeper will be reset to the client's primary timekeeper. The default Sales Tax rate is determined for every cost transaction. If used, the Units field will be reset to "1."

 To add a new cost from the Cost Entry window

  1. From the File menu, point to Data Entry, and then select Cost.
  2. Click the Client button and select the desired client.
  3. Click on the toolbar. Enter the desired information for the cost entry.
  4. Click on the toolbar to save the new cost entry.
  5. The GL Integration window may be displayed if the transaction code is configured to integrate with GL but does not have GL Debit and/or Credit Accounts specified. Optionally, click on the toolbar to view this window. After you are finished posting journal entries, press ESC to close the window.

Once the first cost transaction for a data entry session has been entered, the defaults for subsequent cost transactions will be the same as the previous transaction. However, the Amount field will be reset to zero for each new transaction and the Timekeeper will be reset to the client's primary timekeeper. The default Sales Tax rate is determined for every cost transaction. If used, the Units field will be reset to "1."

Note: A user will not be able to add a cost entry unless that user has been assigned access rights to add cost entries.

GL Integration Note: GL journal entries will be created automatically if a Debit Account, Credit Account, and Journal are assigned for the cost tcode. If a Debit Account, Credit Account, and Journal are assigned, the can be used to view the GL Integration window. If any of the fields are not assigned in GL Integration Setup, a GL Integration window will be displayed when the cost entry is saved. If a user does not have Detail Cost GL View access rights, a message will be displayed indicating this and journal entries will not be created.

If users have rights to add cost entries and Tabs3 is configured to integrate with GL, the users have rights to add journal entries into GL via Tabs3.

See also:   Toolbar Buttons