When adding a fee transaction using the Fee Entry program, in order to determine the timekeeper's default billing rate, Tabs3 first checks to see if a fee rate table has been created for the client and then checks to see if a rate has been assigned for that timekeeper. If a rate has been assigned for that timekeeper, Tabs3 uses that rate as the default billing rate. If a rate has not been assigned for that timekeeper or if a fee rate table is not found for the client, Tabs3 checks elsewhere for a default billing rate.

Creation of fee rate tables is entirely optional. You can set up a fee rate table for one client, several clients or all clients. You can add rates for all timekeepers who are working for the client or selected timekeepers who are working for the client. The fee rate table can contain unlimited timekeepers with one rate per timekeeper. If a timekeeper's rate changes, a new rate can be specified along with a cut-off date that indicates which transactions entered from this point forward will use the new rate.

When defining fee rate tables, you can

  1. define a new fee rate table from scratch (custom);
  2. copy an existing fee rate table as a basis for a new rate table (use existing table); or
  3. share an existing fee rate table (shared).

The difference between copying and sharing a fee rate table is how the tables are stored. When sharing a fee rate table, Tabs3 simply stores a "pointer" to the shared fee rate table. Therefore, if you make changes to a fee rate table that is used as a shared rate table, then all other clients who use the same shared rate table will also reflect the changes.

The Change Client Options program includes an option that allows you to automatically clear the fee rate tables for a range of clients. Clearing a fee rate table consists of deleting all timekeepers from the table. The Change Client Options program also allows you to globally change the fee rate table for a range or group of clients to a shared fee rate table.

Note: When using fee rate tables for clients with multiple matters, you can set up a separate fee rate table for each matter or you can assign a shared fee rate table. Allowing separate rate tables gives you the flexibility of using different billing rates for each matter. However, it is easier to maintain shared fee rate tables.

Note: Keep in mind that changing or deleting a client's fee rate table that is shared by other clients affects the rates for the shared clients as well. Thus, you may want to print a Client Rate Report before changing or deleting a rate table to confirm which clients will be affected by the change. Changing the New Rate field and the Effective Date of New Rate field for a client with a shared rate table changes these values for any clients who share that rate table.

Tabs3 Billing Remote Note: When using Tabs3 Billing Remote, you may want to recreate the Tabs3 Billing Remote Validation Files if you add, change, or delete any fee rate tables.