| Update Notification Window |
|
||||||||||||||||||
The Tabs3 Software Update Notification window is displayed when a critical update is available or when the Check for Updates menu option is selected and an update is available.
The Update Notification Window displays one of the following messages:
Critical Software Update Available
The information and options displayed in the window depends on which message is displayed.
Software Update Available
Critical Software Update Available
| Update Notes |
If an update is available for the currently installed version, the Update Notes section will display a description of changes included with the available update. |
|
Platinum Note: Depending on which files and components are being updated, some Platinum updates must be installed from the server. If the available update must be run from the server, a message will be displayed in the Update Notes section. If no message is displayed, then the Platinum update can be installed from a workstation. |
|
|
Remind Me Later |
The Remind Me Later button will be displayed if the Update Notification window was opened automatically due to a critical update being available. |
| Cancel |
The Cancel button will be displayed if the Update Notification window was opened manually. Click the Remind Me Later or Cancel button to close the Update Notification window without installing the update. |
| Download Now | Click the Download Now button to open the download utility. The download utility is a separate application that downloads and installs the latest version of the software. |
|
Note: If the installer for the most recent update has already been downloaded (but was not installed), clicking Download Now will launch the installer. |
Notes Regarding Critical Updates
When a critical update is available, the Update Notification window will be displayed each time a Tabs3 Software application is opened by a user authorized to check for updates. Once the critical update has been installed, the Update Notification window will no longer be displayed automatically.
Once the critical update has been downloaded, the notification will not be displayed for other users for one hour in order to help prevent additional downloads. After that point, users who click the Download button from the notification window will be prompted to install the update.
The notification is only displayed when you start a new Tabs3 Software session. Applications launched under the same session (e.g., via the Application Toolbar) will not display the critical update notification.
If a new version of the software is available (e.g., Version 2024 when you are currently using Version 2023), the Update Notification window will display information on the new version.
| What's New in Version XX | The What's New in Version XX section displays a list of features available in the new version. |
| Close |
Click the Close button to close the Update Notification window. |
| Download Now |
Click the Download Now button to access the download page for the new version via the Tabs3 website in your default web browser. |
If the software is currently up to date and there is not a new version available, a message stating "The software is up to date" will be displayed instead of the Update Notification window.
| See also: | Knowledge Base Article R11773 - Tabs3 Software Update Notification |