| Print Control Window |
|
File | Display Print Jobs |
The Print Control window shows all active print jobs for the workstation in the current software system. It tracks the print jobs that are being sent to the printer, Tabs3 DropBox, or disk file, as well as the print jobs that are being viewed in the Preview window. By default, the Print Control window is not shown, but it can be displayed on demand for status or troubleshooting purposes using the File | Display Print Jobs menu option.
Each software system has a separate Print Control window). Each print job shown includes a job number, status, number of pages and description.
Multiple print jobs are processed in "First-In First-Out" order. For example, if a print job is being processed while another print job is sent, the first print job will continue to process until completion. Once that print job has completed, it will begin processing the next print job.
| Close | The Print Control window cannot be manually closed. Therefore, the Close button does not close the window; it hides the window. The Print Control window can be brought back up by selecting the File | Display Print Jobs menu option. The Print Control window will be closed automatically after the last print job is completed. This means if a job is being previewed, the Print Control window will be closed when the Preview window is closed. If a job is being printed or saved to a disk file, the Print Control window will be closed once all information has been sent to the printer or disk file. |
| Delete |
The Delete button can be used to pause or delete the highlighted print job. If the print job is still processing, you will be asked if you want to abort the print job. Click Yes if you want to abort the print job; otherwise click No if you want to resume processing. If the print job has completed processing and you are printing, the print job will no longer be shown in the Print Control window. At this point, the entire print job has already been sent to the printer. If the print job is being previewed and processing has completed (i.e., Status = Viewing), the Delete button will close the associated Preview window. |
Printing Note: Once a complete or partial print job has been sent to the printer, the software no longer has control over that print job (or portion thereof). If you want to cancel a print job that has already been sent to the printer, you will have to abort the print job at the printer or using the Windows print queue.