Keep in mind the following when merging client information from a practice management system:

Tabs3 deletes the CM3_TABS.DTA file after the merge process has completed (regardless of whether errors are found).
Although new clients and contact records added in a practice management system are merged into Tabs3, any changes made to contact information (i.e., address, phone, email, and web) for existing clients will not merge into Tabs3 using the CM3_TABS.DTA file. Instead, changes must be made in Tabs3.
If one of the following fields is changed in a practice management program for a client that already exists in Tabs3: Client Description, Tabs3 Misc. Line 1, Tabs3 Misc. Line 2 or Tabs3 Misc. Line 3, and an asterisk exists in the first character position of the corresponding field in Tabs3, the "Merge Practice Management Client Changes" program retains the asterisk in the Tabs3 field, but changes the remaining characters. (Note: An asterisk in the first character position of these fields indicates the line is not to print on a Tabs3 statement.)
When a new client is added, the client's default options will be the defaults defined on the Client Defaults tab in Customization. However, when a matter for a client that already exists is added, the defaults will be the same as the options for the client's highest numbered active matter (provided you are using a Numeric or Mixed Key Type). For example, if client 221.01 exists, when you add matter 221.02, the default options will be the same as client 221.01.
Secure client information can be exported by a manager or a user with rights to the secure client. However, once a secure client is exported, changes to that information in the practice management software can be merged back into Tabs3 without regard to the rights of the user performing the merge.
If a user is not assigned to an access profile that has the PracticeMaster Synchronization access right enabled, the user will not be able to use the Merge Practice Management Changes program. These rights are assigned in System Configuration (File | Open | Access Profile | Tabs3 | Dictionary Maintenance/Integration | PracticeMaster Synchronization).

Amicus Note: The Merge Practice Management Client Changes program can be used to merge client information from Amicus. The Amicus program has the ability to create a file named CM3_TABS.DTA. When new clients are merged, Tabs3 uses the same timekeeper number for the primary timekeeper, secondary timekeeper and originating timekeeper.