| NetDocuments Overview |
Tabs3 Software integrates with NetDocuments document management software from NetDocuments Software, Inc. Details regarding versions that integrate can be found in our Knowledge Base Article R11978, "Third Party Integration Requirements." For additional information regarding NetDocuments, see netdocuments.com.
When integration is enabled at the firm level, new client and matter information from Tabs3 Billing, PracticeMaster, or Trust is automatically sent to NetDocuments.
Additionally, when integrated at the user level in PracticeMaster, NetDocuments files can be accessed from within PracticeMaster, and the PracticeMaster Conflict of Interest utility can search NetDocuments files.
Note: Firm level integration requires PracticeMaster or PracticeMaster Basic, and can be configured in either Tabs3 Billing or PracticeMaster. For more information regarding PracticeMaster Basic, see Knowledge Base Article R11027, “Installing the Try Before You Buy PracticeMaster License.”
Note: User level integration requires a full PracticeMaster license, and must be configured in PracticeMaster. See the NetDocuments Overview topic in PracticeMaster help for information on user level integration features.
This overview includes information on the following:
The NetDocuments Integration window in Tabs3 Billing is used to configure firm level integration with NetDocuments. This window is essentially a one-time configuration used to enable integration and configure the various synchronization options. A Sync Now function is available that will transfer all client information in the Tabs3 Software to NetDocuments. (Note: The Sync Now function only needs to be performed once by the administrator.)
The NetDocuments Integration window is used to enable integration and can be used to transfer Tabs3 Software Client information to NetDocuments using the Sync Now function. Synchronization normally only needs to be performed once. Once the integration is configured, adding a new client in Tabs3 Billing, PracticeMaster, or Trust automatically adds the client to NetDocuments. Furthermore, changes made in Tabs3 Billing, PracticeMaster, or Trust to fields that integrate with NetDocuments are also automatically changed in NetDocuments.
Renumbering a client in Tabs3 Billing, PracticeMaster, or Trust will renumber the NetDocuments client automatically.
When you delete a client in Tabs3 Billing, PracticeMaster, or Trust, it will only be deleted from NetDocuments if there are no documents assigned to that matter; otherwise, the client and their associated documents will remain in NetDocuments.
When you Change Key Type or Adjust the Matter Length in Tabs3 Billing, PracticeMaster, or Trust, no information is changed in NetDocuments. Corresponding changes must be performed in NetDocuments. Contact your NetDocuments consultant for assistance with this process.
Note: Changes made to fields that integrate with NetDocuments using the Rename Contact and Merge Contacts functions are also automatically changed in NetDocuments.
Note: Changes made in NetDocuments to fields that integrate with Tabs3 Software (i.e., client ID, name, or work description) are not saved to Tabs3 Billing, PracticeMaster, or Trust. Therefore, new clients or changes to a client record should always be made in Tabs3 Billing, PracticeMaster, or Trust so they automatically integrate with NetDocuments.
| See also: | Knowledge Base Article R11786 - NetDocuments Integration |