| QuickBooks Multi-user Mode |
In order for Tabs3 to access QuickBooks, QuickBooks must be running in multi-user mode. By default, QuickBooks is configured to run in single-user mode.
Switching
to multi-user mode
- In QuickBooks, from the File menu, select Switch to Multi-user Mode.
- If a "Create New Users" dialog box is displayed, click No.
QuickBooks Multi-user Mode Limitations
When running QuickBooks in multi-user mode, certain activities cannot be performed in QuickBooks. If you need to perform an activity that can only be performed when QuickBooks is in single-user mode, you must first close Tabs3. Then, before Tabs3 and QuickBooks can integrate again, QuickBooks will need to be switched back to multi-user mode. The following is a list of activities that need to be performed in single-user mode. (Note: This list was provided by QuickBooks and is subject to change.)
- Backing up, condensing, converting, rebuilding, restoring, or updating the company data file.
- Changing company information, including the closing date.
- Setting up or changing company preferences.
- Importing or exporting data.
- Merging, deleting, or restoring list items.
- Changing list item fields that interact with other lists.
- Signing up for QuickBooks Payroll Service.
- Printing Form 1099-MISC.
- Mapping a network drive from within QuickBooks.
- Defining custom fields.
- Linking to QuickBooks from TurboTax.
- Accountant's review activities.
Switching
to single-user mode
- In QuickBooks, from the File menu, select Switch to Single-user Mode.
- If a message is displayed indicating that the company file cannot be closed because Tabs3 is using it, click OK. Close Tabs3 and repeat step 1.
- A message will be displayed indicating that the file can now be used in single-user mode. Click OK.
- Perform the desired task that requires single-user mode.
- Before using Tabs3 again, switch back to multi-user mode.